Curiosity Hurts

This morning I had clothes in the dryer. Paige is only wearing dresses these days and so I need to keep up with laundry or getting her dressed is painful. If she has clean dresses, or any clothes she finds “pretty”, she gets herself all dressed on her own. So it’s worth the late night and early morning sorting.

Paige was eager to get her clothes for the day and headed down the stairs before I was ready. I heard a bit of a commotion, but no cries or screams. When I got to the bottom of the stairs, she hid from me. Then I noticed a mouse trap turned upside down. (While we were away, the basement tenants had caught a couple of mice and were continuing to be vigilant.)

I asked her what happened. She replied in a rush “I thought it was a mouse trapper, so I touched it and IT WAS A MOUSE TRAPPER!!!”. When I went to move the trap, she exclaimed “Don’t touch it, it will hurt you too!” She then showed me two fingers on her right hand (index and middle) which were slightly red, but not bruised or squished in anyway. I proceeded to examine her hand and fingers, and then we washed her hands well. Didn’t seem like they were seriously injured. She was just curious. And she probably learned her lesson.

After that, I laughed very hard. And out loud, more than once :) 

Leave a comment

Filed under Updates

Leave a Reply

