Many Aspirations, Some Motivation

Well, it’s been a busy week and the weekend is now over, but I am happy to report that we have made some headway in the napping department. Myself included. Paige has been napping for 4 or more hours a day for the past 4 days! It’s been splendid!

What’s even better, is that she has often been taking a short nap in the morning, and then a 3 hour nap in the afternoon. This uninterrupted time should be amazing, as I have the chance to be incredibly productive but alas, I nap then too. Which has resulted in an unusual amount of energy in the evenings, for just me, thankfully.

Now to explain my aspirations, in short: I want to sew baby shoes, write a post every other day, start preparing more healthy finger foods, do strollercize and un-repel my diapers (the last one I am very sad to report, as I thought I had perfected a method to avoid repelling!). I also need to organize our tax information, file our taxes, start thinking about baby proofing and un-repel my diapers.

Why do I want to sew baby shoes? Check this picture out for an example of something I won’t be able to make soon, but maybe one day. Check this one out for a more realistic example of something I can accomplish more easily, particularly without a sewing machine. Plus, I have a daughter and love cute clothes!

As for preparing finger food, I did start, very simply, on Saturday. As I sat down to eat a healthy snack of cucumber and orange pepper strips, I offered one of each to Paige. She was very interested in the colorful pepper, but had some difficulty picking it up at first. I tried not to help and eventually she managed to hold it and get it to her mouth. Then she made a “bleck” type face, and tried it a few more times. She even sucked on it a bit. Paige was very briefly interested in the cucumber, and almost tried it too. I thought this was very successful and so did Paige! I should also add that Paige played with a piece of cooked red pepper at Doan’s on Friday and was super happy to be involved in the meal. My immediate family, plus my Grandma, were there, so it was a lot of fun for us all.

Today Paige played with a piece of banana, but we learned it’s a very tricky fruit to eat, and it only ended up getting everywhere. Another success in my view :)

Fortunately, my aspirations can be ongoing and I am motivated to do the things I need to get done so that I can do those I want to do. I just hope I can get my diapers to wick moisture again. Next time I will separate the ones that repel from the ones that don’t so I won’t have to strip them all! Think I will start that now… after I look at a few more shoe ideas that is.

2 Comments

April 10, 2011 · 21:46

2 responses to “Many Aspirations, Some Motivation

  1. Alex

    I would like to learn how to knit.. And I would love to be able to knit baby clothes, AND grown up clothes as well.

    Just wait until Paige starts eating things she can REALLY make a mess with! I can just imagine spaghetti noodles all over her!

    • Yeah, I know! That is another reason I want to sew – I will make a splash mat and smock! Now I just need a sewing machine. You learn to knit, and I will sew :)

Leave a Reply

