Cloth Diapering

When I was pregnant, I knew I wanted to use cloth diapers. But there are many choices out there and the nicest looking ones are very expensive – costing upwards of $20/diaper. Luckily, I have very resourceful friends, some who’ve had kids already, and others who just did their research while pregnant at the same time as me.

My husband and I decided to go with a diaper service for the first month, however. This way the shock of having a new baby AND using cloth diapers wouldn’t be compounded; we’d have the new baby and be essentially using “disposables” without the waste. Unfortunately, the service we went with had sub-par diapers, which we realize now, in retrospect. We had leaks all of the time. We decided to co-sleep with Paige and the sheets were always wet. So, we started just putting a receiving blanket over the area, after changing Paige at midnight, and 3 am, and possibly again at 5 am, instead of changing the entire bed.

Then a wonderful new friend lent us diapers she had, but were too small for her son. They were Dri-line brand, and were cotton. You needed to use a waterproof cover, so I bought a couple and she lent me one. They were pretty great. No leaks. No doing laundry everyday; just every 2-3 days.

Then I ordered a one-size, pocket diaper. The brand – bumGenius. It was awesome! They have a micro fleece inner lining, that wicks moisture away from baby’s bottom. Then a ‘filler’ or liner inside the diaper to absorb said moisture, with a water proof outer layer. And she could wear it now. And it would “grow” as she did. Problem was, they are $23 a piece.

Come in my super fantastic, very resourceful friend. She told me about a Vancouver based company that had the same type for under $10. *Note: she did tell me about this brand while I was pregnant, but I didn’t realize their importance until trying all the other diapers. The brand – Comfy Rumps. I ordered two; one Velcro PUL (lining that makes outer layer waterproof) and one organic cotton snap diaper. I loved the Velcro one, but the snap one fit horribly. So I ordered 20 or so Velcro PUL one size diapers. The Velcro is great for tightening around a tiny newborn, as well as very fast.

Unfortunately, it took awhile for my diapers to arrive, so when we went to our parents’ places for Christmas, we took disposables. We had bought seventh generation no-chlorine diapers and Delora, partly biodegradable diapers. *Note: seventh generation diapers are not different from regular diapers as no diapers use harmful chlorine. And they dye their diapers light brown to look natural.

Once my diapers arrived, I excitedly washed them all. Then put them together. With pocket diapers you have to separate the diaper from the lining for washing, then put it back in for use. I still had to do laundry every 3 days, but loved the diapers. I ended up looking into buying more, and realized that the snap diapers they have were actually different than the organic cotton one I disliked. They have more snaps. One row for tightening around the thigh (which was where the organic one was too big) and one row for around the waist. I referred to my super fantastic resourceful friend, who confirmed this, and I bought more diapers. I bought enough to do diaper laundry 1 time per week, as this would be the most efficient use of time and load size.

Turns out, I love the snap style now too. They would not be as good for small babies however, such as newborns or those under 8 pounds. Unfortunately, they have stopped making the Velcro ones, and now have only new snap ones, which are also cheaper. Now they are under $8 / diaper. Oh well. I love the ones I’ve had and am glad I bought more when I did, as it saved me many laundry runs.

Washing cloth diapers can be tricky. I have now perfected a system while using our high efficiency washing machine, and will comment on that next time!

8 Comments

March 25, 2011 · 11:59

8 responses to “Cloth Diapering

  1. Alex

    Cloth diapers are definitely the way to go!!

  2. Ariel

    Another good alternative for out and about is gDiapers. They have a waterproof washable liner, a cotton outer and a disposable inner liner where all the waste goes. The disposable inner is flush-able and compost-able (if it’s a pee diaper only) or can be thrown in the garbage and will break down in the landfill in only 90 days. They are hard to find in Winnipeg, but I had a lot of luck in Edmonton and Sherwood park. Lincoln was a heavy wetter, so I needed to add an extra flannel pad to his to prevent leaks.

    I liked that you could toss the liner once wet and not have to carry a pee soaked diaper with you for the rest of the day.

    • Oh, thanks Ariel! That is a good idea! I know of a friend who uses a similar type where you change out the liner (which is against the skin), and not the outer, which can be reused, unless wet or soiled. The liner was washable though. I don’t know the brand, but they are from the states and expensive to ship.

  3. Meghan

    Thea this is a great idea! Love reading what you have to say!
    Also you’ll have to introduce me to this super-fantastic friend of yours ;)
    PS I think you are a pretty super-fantastic friend too :)

  4. Moosegirl

    We used motherease diapers (Canadian too)… their one size fits all worked great for my kidlets!! Their covers are also fantastic!
    You can get the gdiapers online with free shipping from well.ca

    Oh and I love your blog :o)

Leave a Reply

